The Rudman Law Group
Call For A Free Initial Consultation
561-367-2542 / 800-481-3829

What are Florida’s DUI Laws?

It is fairly common knowledge that driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is illegal. However, the extent to which these offenses are punishable and just what constitutes such an offense vary by state. An illegal BAC in Georgia or Texas may not be the same as an illegal BAC in Florida, and the amount of jail time that convicted offenders will face is also subject to state laws. While we recommend that you never drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol, if you are accused of such behavior, it is useful to know the law.

Perhaps the most important information to know is the BAC limit in Florida: 0.08 percent. If you breathe into a Breathalyzer and the result is a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher, you will face drunk driving charges. Being convicted of such an offense could see your license suspended for up to two years depending on if you are a repeat offender or not, and your vehicle could also be confiscated. However, failing a Breathalyzer and being arrested for DUI is not a guaranteed sentence.

The circumstances of the arrest can be very important in a DUI case. For example, if the courts determine that the Breathalyzer was not calibrated properly, your case could be dismissed entirely. If a police officer did not have probable cause to pull you over, you could have reduced charges or have the case dismissed.

If you are still curious about Florida’s policies regarding drunk driving, click here. If you are facing drunk driving charges, it would likely be beneficial that you consult an attorney as quickly as possible so that you can begin to build a defense for yourself. Drunk driving allegations are not to be taken lightly.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

101 Plaza Real South, Suite 214
Boca Raton, FL 33432

Toll Free: 800-481-3829
Phone: 561-367-2542
Fax: 561-208-6083
Boca Raton Law Office Map

Call For A Free Initial Consultation