UPDATE: To protect your safety during the coronavirus (COVID-19) crisis, we offer telephone and video conferencing, in place of face-to-face meetings. Please contact our office today to set up a remote consultation.

We Provide Aggressive, Sensible
Criminal Defense Representation

Rape laws in Florida

| Sep 25, 2015 | Sex Crimes |

Unlike some states, Florida law does not recognize rape as its own criminal offense. Instead, rape is included as an additional type of sexual battery offense. As such, the prosecution must prove that sexual battery occurred, or that elements of a sexual battery existed, in order to prove an accusation of rape.

Examples of these elements included the unwanted sexual penetration of the victim by the accused individual with a foreign object, including a sexual organ. It is important to note that, like in many states, there is an age limit to consent. For Florida residents, this means that if a victim is younger than 12 years old, then lack of consent does not have to be proven. If an individual is discovered to have sexually penetrated so young an individual, then that individual will likely be convicted of sexual battery.

There are many different factors that go into determining the penalties of a rape, and most of these factors depend on the age of the victim or the circumstances surrounding the rape, such as use of a weapon or excessive force. For example, if someone older than 18 is convicted of sexual battery against a victim younger than 12, then the convicted individual could be facing the death penalty.

At its minimum, a sexual battery conviction on a victim who is older than 12 is punishable by up to 15 years in prison. It is considered a second-degree felony, but additional circumstances could lead to a first-degree felony charge, for which the penalties could be even greater. If you are facing rape or sexual battery charges in Florida, it is imperative that you take legal action in your defense. The consequences of a conviction are simply too serious to ignore.

Download The Rudman Law Group App

The Rudman Law Group
In Case of Arrest
In Case of Emergency
Get it on Google Play
Download on the App Store
Panic Button

Securely saving your information, and get legal help at the touch of a button. Whenever, wherever.

Submit Documents

Easily submit documents to Rudman Law. No more fax machine or scanner needed. The app does all the work.

Share The App

With the share feature, you can easily refer the Rudman Law Group to your friends.

Contact Our Palm Beach County Attorneys Now

For aggressive advocacy both in and out of the courtroom, call our firm at 561-367-2542 or 800-481-3829 toll free to schedule a free initial consultation. You may also contact us online. We accept all major credit cards.

Free initial consultations | All major credit cards accepted