Reliable & Aggressive Trial Advocacy

What could happen with second and third DUI charges in Florida?

On Behalf of | May 9, 2024 | Drunk Driving |

The consequences of Florida DUIs become more severe with each subsequent conviction.

Understanding these ramifications is necessary for anyone facing such circumstances. For example, defendants who faced relatively light consequences for a first offense might not realize how much more serious matters can get.

Second DUI conviction

A second DUI charge in Florida, if it leads to a conviction, carries significantly harsher penalties compared with a first offense. Offenders may face fines ranging from $1,000 to $2,000, up to nine months of imprisonment and a license suspension for up to five years.

A second DUI conviction means installing an ignition interlock device. This device, if it detects alcohol on the driver’s breath, prevents the vehicle’s engine from starting.

Third DUI offenses

The stakes are even higher for those facing a third DUI charge in Florida. A third DUI conviction within 10 years of the second offense is a felony. This classification results in more severe penalties, including fines of up to $5,000, a mandatory minimum of 30 days in jail and a license revocation of at least 10 years. Vehicle impoundment for 90 days may occur unless the defendant’s family has no other transportation.

Impact on employment

Multiple DUI charges may have far-reaching effects. For example, one DUI conviction is tricky enough for prospective employers to overlook. Two or three are harder to dismiss and pose even more serious challenges in professions that require driving or involve handling sensitive information.

The legal, professional and personal consequences of second and third DUI offenses may be massive. Proactive decision-making is necessary.


24/7 Access

Download The Rudman Law Group app to reach us anytime, anywhere.

Illustration of The Rudman Law Group App on Android device
Illustration of The Rudman Law Group App on the iOS device
Get It On Google Play
Download on the App Store

In Case Of Arrest

Securely save your information and get legal help at the touch of a button whenever and wherever.

Submit Documents

Easily submit documents to The Rudman Law Group. No scanner needed; the app does all the work.

Share The App

Easily refer The Rudman Law Group to your friends with a click of a button.

Contact Our Palm Beach County Attorneys Now

Free initial consultations | All major credit cards accepted