UPDATE: To protect your safety during the coronavirus (COVID-19) crisis, we offer telephone and video conferencing, in place of face-to-face meetings. Please contact our office today to set up a remote consultation.

We Provide Aggressive, Sensible
Criminal Defense Representation

What should I know about Florida’s assault and battery laws?

| Dec 30, 2014 | Violent Crimes |

Assault and Battery are two very serious criminal charges that can often mean hefty fines and jail time for those who are convicted. It is important to note that while these two charges are often lumped together, there are distinct differences. Assault occurs when one party threatens another party with harm to the extent that the threatened party has cause to fear for their safety. Battery refers to instances in which the threatening party physically touched the victim without the victim’s consent.

In Florida, when someone is accused of assault, the prosecution must prove the defendant did in fact threaten the victim, had the ability to act upon the threat, and caused the victim genuine fear. When accused of battery, prosecutors must prove that physical contact was made between the two parties, and that the contact was made against the victim’s will. These two factors allow for a few defenses against assault and battery charges.

Defendants who are accused of assault or battery can defend their innocence by proving that the incident was an accident, or that they were given consent to physically touch the victim. Self-defense is also a plausible defense for why the defendant might have struck the other party.

If you are accused of assault or battery, it is very important that you act quickly to mount a solid defense that can prove your innocence. The consequences of being convicted can range from $500 fines and 60 days of imprisonment to $10,000 and 15 years of imprisonment. Of course it always helps to have the opinion of a legal expert, and consulting with an attorney could be the difference between conviction and acquittal.

Download The Rudman Law Group App

The Rudman Law Group
In Case of Arrest
In Case of Emergency
Get it on Google Play
Download on the App Store
Panic Button

Securely saving your information, and get legal help at the touch of a button. Whenever, wherever.

Submit Documents

Easily submit documents to Rudman Law. No more fax machine or scanner needed. The app does all the work.

Share The App

With the share feature, you can easily refer the Rudman Law Group to your friends.

Contact Our Palm Beach County Attorneys Now

For aggressive advocacy both in and out of the courtroom, call our firm at 561-367-2542 or 800-481-3829 toll free to schedule a free initial consultation. You may also contact us online. We accept all major credit cards.

Free initial consultations | All major credit cards accepted