The Rudman Law Group
Call For Free Consultation
561-367-2542

These are 4 questions you may have about DUI schooling

You were enjoying an amazing night out with your colleagues, and you didn't think much about the fact that you could be intoxicated. You felt fine, and you didn't think you'd have any trouble getting home on your own.

Unfortunately, you weren't right. After driving a few miles, you ended up getting drowsy from your drinks and went off the road. Now, you're facing a DUI on top of the injuries you caused yourself.

After you get a DUI in Florida, you may be referred to a DUI school. If you are referred to it, then you will need to complete DUI school before you can get your license back.

Do you have to go to DUI school for your first DUI?

If this is your first DUI and conviction, then you will have your license revoked for a minimum of a year. You can seek a hardship license, but you'll need to complete your DUI schooling first.

Can you lose your license if you don't complete DUI school but wait for the revocation period to end?

Interestingly, if you wait to reinstate your license, you could still lose it. The revocation period is designed to keep you off the roads for a specific amount of time, but it's also a time when you're expected to go to DUI school and/or treatment. If you do not complete DUI school within 90 days of getting your license reinstated, then you could lose your license again. Failing to complete treatment can result in a loss of your license as well.

What happens in a DUI school course?

DUI school is educational. It's designed to include lectures, class discussions, videos and handouts. All students are taught by a State of Florida Certified DUI Level 1 Instructor if they are first offenders.

DUI schools vary, but many have 12-hour courses that use approved curriculum created by the state. Courses usually discuss traffic laws related to DUIs, drug and alcohol resources that are available throughout the local community, alternatives to drinking and driving, the effects of alcohol on the ability to drive, and a review of how DUIs are processed through the courts.

When can you apply for a hardship license?

Usually, you can apply for a hardship license only after you register for your DUI schooling. You will need to pay fees and go to each session.

These are some commonly asked questions about DUI schooling. It's a program aimed at education and to reduce the likelihood of a reoffense.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

101 Plaza Real South, Suite 214
Boca Raton, FL 33432

Toll Free: 800-481-3829
Phone: 561-367-2542
Fax: 561-208-6083
Boca Raton Law Office Map

Call For Free Consultation

Download The Rudman Law Group App

The Rudman Law Group
In Case of Arrest Get it on Google Play
In Case of Emergency Download on the App Store
Get it on Google Play Download on the App Store
  • Panic Button

    Securely saving your information, and get legal help at the touch of a button. Whenever, wherever.

  • Submit Documents

    Easily submit documents to Rudman Law. No more fax machine or scanner needed. The app does all the work.

  • Share The App

    With the share feature, you can easily refer the Rudman Law Group to your friends.

Contact Our Palm Beach County Attorneys Now

For aggressive advocacy both in and out of the courtroom, call our firm at 561-367-2542 or 800-481-3829 toll free to schedule a free initial consultation. You may also contact us online. We accept all major credit cards.

Free initial consultations | All major credit cards accepted

Email Us For A Response Email Us For A Response

How Can We Help You?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy