We Provide Aggressive, Sensible
Criminal Defense Representation

What happens to your driver’s license after a DUI charge?

On Behalf of | May 27, 2022 | Criminal Defense |

A driver’s license is a rite of passage for a high school student, but it’s a basic necessity for the average adult. Your driver’s license helps ensure your freedom and makes it easier for you to keep a job. You need your own transportation to get to work on time and to perform the necessary tasks for your family and children.

For some people accused of driving under the influence (DUI) offenses in Florida, it is the possible license consequences that concern them the most, rather than the risk of jail time or fines. License suspension is a standard penalty for those accused of drunk driving in Florida.

How long will you lose your license if you plead guilty or get convicted of a DUI?

Your driving record determines the length of the revocation

If you don’t hurt anyone, a first DUI charge will mean a revocation of your license for at least 180 days, maybe a year. If someone gets hurt, the revocation period increases to a minimum of three years. A second DUI offense within five years of the first will mean a five-year revocation. A second offense that happens more than five years after the first will carry the same license penalties as a first DUI charge.

A third offense within ten years of the second will mean a minimum of 10 years without your license. A fourth offense means a mandatory permanent revocation. Some drivers can qualify for a hardship license after serving part of their revocation period.

How can you protect your driving privileges?

When you understand the rules that govern license suspensions following drunk driving arrests, there is one obvious solution to help you preserve your license.

Given that there is a minimum revocation required for even first-time offenders, the only way to ensure you don’t lose your license is to defend yourself against those pending charges. It is also valuable to know when you can potentially ask for a hardship license after you have already had your license revoked for some time.

Fighting back against pending DUI charges and the licensing consequences they carry can help you preserve your way of life after an unexpected traffic stop.

Archives

FindLaw Network

Download The Rudman Law Group App

The Rudman Law Group
In Case of Arrest
In Case of Emergency
Get it on Google Play
Download on the App Store
Panic Button

Securely saving your information, and get legal help at the touch of a button. Whenever, wherever.

Submit Documents

Easily submit documents to Rudman Law. No more fax machine or scanner needed. The app does all the work.

Share The App

With the share feature, you can easily refer the Rudman Law Group to your friends.

Contact Our Palm Beach County Attorneys Now

For aggressive advocacy both in and out of the courtroom, call our firm at 561-464-2615 or 888-870-7457 toll free to schedule a free initial consultation. You may also contact us online. We accept all major credit cards.

Free initial consultations | All major credit cards accepted