Reliable & Aggressive Trial Advocacy

Defense Attorney For Multiple DUI Arrests In Palm Beach County

The impact of a first-time drunk driving offense is bad enough. The damage becomes even more challenging to navigate and recover from upon repeat offenses. The Rudman Law Group, a Palm Beach County DUI lawyer, helps Boca Raton drivers accused of second and third-time DUIs fight to minimize their penalties and protect their freedom. 

The Penalties For Repeat Drunk Driving Offenses

The punishments for DUI offenses beyond the first look similar to those issued for a first-time conviction, but they increase in severity. The penalties include the following:

  • Fines
  • Jail time
  • Driver’s license revocation
  • Mandated installation of an ignition interlock device in one’s vehicle
  • Vehicle impoundment
  • Required completion of DUI school

A second DUI conviction results in a fine that’s at least $1,000, but it can be up to $2,000. If the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) was over .15 or if there was anyone under 18 in the car, the fine can range from $2,000 to $4,000. The fine range for a third DUI is $2,000 to $5,000 and $4,000 if the driver had an elevated BAC or a minor in the vehicle with them.

The prison sentence for a second DUI could be up to nine months. Depending on how soon a third offense is after the prior ones, a 30-day sentence could be mandatory. The maximum time for a third DUI is 12 months.

The driver’s license revocation period for a second DUI is five years if it happens within five years of the first offense; ten years for a third offense within ten years of the second. 

People convicted of a second or third DUI must install an ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicle and are required to use it for at least a year or up to two years, based on the circumstances.

If someone gets a second DUI within five years of their first, their vehicle will be impounded for 30 days. The period is 90 days for a third offense within ten years of a prior one.

DUI school is required for a second DUI within five years of the first and a third DUI within ten years of the second.

What’s the difference between a misdemeanor and felony DUI?

The main difference will be the penalties, which are listed above. Drunk driving charges are usually classified as misdemeanors if it is a first or second DUI. However, aggravating factors can elevate a DUI to a felony. 

When is a DUI a felony? 

A third offense within ten years of the last offense is considered a third-degree felony in Florida. Also, any DUI offense that causes serious bodily harm or death is a felony.

Can a DUI be expunged?

No. Once someone is convicted of drunk driving in Florida, it must stay on their record forever. That’s why, if you live in southeast Florida, it’s crucial to get a DUI attorney in Palm Beach County to fight these charges.

Get Help From A Palm Beach County DUI Lawyer

If you’re facing a second or third-time DUI charge, get legal help immediately to begin working on your defense. Call The Rudman Law Group at 888-870-7457 or message us now to schedule a free consultation.

24/7 Access

Download The Rudman Law Group app to reach us anytime, anywhere.

Illustration of The Rudman Law Group App on Android device
Illustration of The Rudman Law Group App on the iOS device
Get It On Google Play
Download on the App Store

In Case Of Arrest

Securely save your information and get legal help at the touch of a button whenever and wherever.

Submit Documents

Easily submit documents to The Rudman Law Group. No scanner needed; the app does all the work.

Share The App

Easily refer The Rudman Law Group to your friends with a click of a button.

Contact Our Palm Beach County Attorneys Now

Free initial consultations | All major credit cards accepted